Southwestern celebrates 58th graduating class

COOS BAY, OR – The Southwestern Oregon Community College (SWOCC) hosts its 58th annual commencement on Friday, June 14, 2019.

The 2019 Class includes 359 graduates from 17 states and 5 countries. Graduates will leave Southwestern with a variety of degrees and certificates in science, business, arts and other fields. One-hundred-seventy-three graduates have earned Associates of Arts Oregon Transfer and 17 earned Associates of Science Oregon Transfer degrees. These students will move on to bachelor’s degree programs; 119 will receive Associate of Applied Science degrees; 133 will receive Associate of General Studies degrees; 105 Associate of Science degrees. In addition, 85 students also earned Certificates of Completion in specialized career technical areas.

Eighteen students have obtained bachelor’s degrees and one earned a master’s degree through the college’s University Center in partnership with the Oregon University System. Some students will receive more than one degree.

“Today’s college graduates are motivated and hardworking. This year, our graduating class even includes 16 co-enrolled high school students,” said President Dr. Patty Scott. “Our graduates come from all over Oregon, the Northwest and the world. They are leaving our college well prepared for additional university training and to go to work in high-skill, high-demand industries. We’re pleased to be celebrating their achievement with families and our community,” said Southwestern President Dr. Patty Scott.

Graduates List

Southwestern’s President Dr. Patty Scott will provide the welcoming remarks and introductions. Board of Education Chair David Bridgham and Faculty Senate Chair Ron Metzger will offer greetings. Student Lakota Robison-Sanada will be giving the Commencement Address to fellow students.
Dr. Scott will present the 2019 Distinguished Alumni award to LaMont Swinson, Class of 2000. Dr. Ali Mageehon and David Bridgham will present and confer the Southwestern graduates. Presentation of the University Center Degrees will be made by Dr. Patty Scott and she will then conclude the evening with the tassel ceremony and the presentation of the Class of 2019.

Sign language interpretation will be provided for the ceremony, which is a ticketed event beginning at 12 p.m. in the Coos Campus Prosper Hall gymnasium, 1988 Newmark Ave. Overflow seating is available in the Hales Center for the Performing Arts, where the event will be shown live on the theater screen. The event will also be streamed live on by clicking on the red “Event Streaming” icon on the lower right side of SWOCC’s home webpage. 

Students and families can commemorate their college experience or special individuals by purchasing an engraved Legacy Brick that will be permanently placed in the Henry Hansen Union Square on the Coos Bay Campus. Minimum donations for a 4x8-inch and 8x8-inch brick are $100 and $200, respectively. Proceeds of the Legacy Brick project support the Laker Alumni Association annual scholarship. For details, go to